OpenAI’s ChatGPT advertising business just crossed a $1 billion annualized run rate, about 200 days after starting as a small US pilot. If you’re running your own campaigns or managing a client’s budget, this is the point where “ChatGPT ads” stops being a rumor and starts needing an opinion.
Published September 1, 2026 · 6 min read
If you’re running your own campaigns or managing a client’s budget, this is the point where “ChatGPT ads” stops being a rumor and starts needing an opinion.
On August 31, 2026, Forbes reported that OpenAI’s ChatGPT Ads business had reached a $1 billion annualized run rate. A week earlier, on August 24, Digiday reported that the same business had expanded to 31 European markets, marking six months since the US launch. Both are dated, sourced reports on real revenue, exactly the kind of story Techfee exists to fact-check before repeating.
- The real timeline behind ChatGPT Ads going from pilot to a $1 billion run rate
- Where the Europe expansion actually stands, agency-only versus self-serve
- What it costs to run a ChatGPT ad right now, depending on where you’re based
- Whether a solo marketer or small business should bother with this yet
- What I haven’t tested myself, and what I’m watching before I do
Last updated: September 1, 2026 by Afraz Alam, Digital Marketing Consultant at afrazalam.com and creator of Techfee. Written after cross-checking both the Forbes and Digiday reports directly against each other for the exact numbers and rollout details before writing a word of this.
What Actually Happened
OpenAI’s ad business started as a US pilot in February 2026. By April, it had already crossed $100 million in annualized revenue within six weeks. By August 31, that number reached a $1 billion annualized run rate, roughly a tenfold jump in four months. That’s the headline figure, and it’s real, but a run rate is a projection based on current activity, not confirmed full-year earnings.
OpenAI’s ads unit is reportedly targeting $2.5 billion in ad revenue for full-year 2026, inside a company-wide annualized revenue run rate above $40 billion. About 600 advertisers took part in the earliest pilot phases before the wider rollout began.
Where the Europe Expansion Actually Stands
On August 24, 2026, ChatGPT ads started serving across 31 European markets, including Germany, France, Spain, and Italy. At launch, European advertisers can only buy through agency partners, specifically Publicis, Omnicom, WPP, Havas, Dentsu, and MediaPlus. OpenAI’s VP of ads, Dave Dugan, told Digiday that self-serve access for small businesses “is coming,” without naming a date.
Here’s the honest gap between the two reports I’m citing. Digiday says Europe launched agency-only. Forbes, a week later, describes self-serve access as having expanded to India, Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. Those aren’t necessarily contradictory, a rollout can shift in a week, but I can’t tell you exactly how much of Europe has self-serve access as of this writing, and I’d rather say that plainly than pick whichever version reads cleaner.
The Europe rollout was also delayed specifically for GDPR consent requirements. OpenAI says conversation content stays private and isn’t shared with advertisers, worth knowing before a client asks “wait, is it reading my chats?”
What ChatGPT Ads Costs Right Now, by Region
Location matters more than anything else here.
| Region | Self-serve status | Minimum spend |
|---|---|---|
| US | Live | None, $50,000 minimum removed in 2026 (Forbes) |
| UK, Canada, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Japan, South Korea | Live | Not specified |
| India | Live | ~$7.60/day |
| Middle East, North Africa | Expanding | Not specified |
| Europe (31 markets) | Agency-only | Via agency partners, no self-serve minimum yet |
India is the clearest signal of where this is heading for smaller advertisers, a minimum daily budget low enough to test the channel without committing real money.
Scale is the other half of the pitch. ChatGPT reportedly has 900 million to 1 billion weekly active users, and OpenAI claims around 20% of queries show direct commercial intent. Whether that turns into ad performance that competes with Google or Meta is a question nobody outside OpenAI’s own numbers can answer yet.
What This Means If You’re a Solo Marketer or Small Business
If you’re already in a self-serve market, this is worth a genuinely small test budget once you can access the Ads Manager, especially with the old $50,000 US minimum gone. If you’re in Europe and outside the agency partnerships, there’s nothing to do yet except wait. For contrast, see what Google shipped inside Google Ads and Analytics, a different approach to the same AI-in-advertising shift.
If you’d rather have someone track updates like this and manage your ad accounts while the landscape shifts, here’s how I work with clients.
What I Haven’t Tested Yet
I’m reporting this because the numbers are real and dated, not because I’ve spent a dollar on a ChatGPT ad. Self-serve access in my own market isn’t confirmed as of this writing, and I haven’t seen a real cost-per-click, conversion rate, or creative format up close. That’s exactly what the AI News & Updates section of Techfee is for, real developments reported straight, kept separate from the tested verdicts on the rest of the site. Once I’ve run a test budget through ChatGPT Ads, I’ll publish what happened, good or bad.
FAQ
Is ChatGPT Ads live right now?
Yes, in a limited sense. ChatGPT Ads has been running since a February 2026 US pilot and expanded to 31 European markets on August 24, 2026. It’s live as a business with real advertisers, but self-serve access still varies heavily by country, and Europe launched agency-only rather than open to everyone.
How much do ChatGPT Ads cost?
It depends heavily on where you’re based. The original US self-serve minimum was $50,000, since removed. Reports say India’s self-serve minimum daily budget sits around $7.60. There’s no single published price list yet, and CPC or CPM benchmarks aren’t public as of this writing.
Is ChatGPT Ads available in Europe?
Partially. As of August 24, 2026, ChatGPT ads serve across 31 European markets including Germany, France, Spain, Italy, and the Netherlands, but advertisers there buy through agency partners like Publicis, Omnicom, and WPP rather than a self-serve tool. OpenAI says self-serve for smaller advertisers “is coming,” without a confirmed date.
What is ChatGPT Ads self-serve?
Self-serve is OpenAI’s Ads Manager, a platform letting advertisers set up and run ChatGPT ads directly instead of going through an agency partner. It’s already available in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Japan, and South Korea, with reports indicating expansion into India, the Middle East, and North Africa as of late August 2026.
My Take
The $1 billion run rate is a genuinely big number for a channel that’s not even a year old, but I’d hold off calling it a proven advertising platform until self-serve access is reachable outside a handful of countries and someone outside OpenAI’s own press releases publishes real cost-per-click data. What I want to test once I can click into the Ads Manager myself is whether “20% of queries show commercial intent” survives contact with an actual budget. I’m watching this one closely, not jumping in yet.
Subscribe to the newsletter below so you don’t miss an update like this.
Got a question about this, or a specific tool you want covered next, drop it in the comments, I read and reply to every one myself.
I’m Afraz Alam, a digital marketing consultant and the creator of Techfee. I explore practical AI marketing by testing AI-powered tools, strategies, workflows, automation systems, and marketing processes on real-world tasks. Through hands-on experiments and implementation, I share what works, what fails, and what is actually worth the time, effort, and cost for small and medium businesses, freelancers, creators, and lean marketing teams.
